2022 Australian Football League (AFL) Preview

Published: Feb 10, 2:52pm Last Updated: Sep 27, 2:34pm Aussie Rules 0 Comments 404 Views

2022 AFL (Australian Football League) Preview

The 2022 AFL season will be the 126th season and the 33rd under the AFL name, it kicks off sometime in March with the reigning champions. In the 2021 season, the Melbourne Demon's ended a 57-year wait for a championship win in a final where they beat the Western Bulldogs 140-66 after incredibly being 40-59 down at one point!

The season will run a total of twenty-three rounds, the dates of each round will be given in blocks of four-to-six weeks, the additional dates will be given out with at least a month's notice, this is due to state border closures and being able to keep a flexible schedule for the season although the regular season is looking to be completed hopefully in late August.

The bookies have priced Melbourne up as the pre-season favourites now they have ended their winless run and they have the team they beat in the final, the Western Bulldogs are second favourites.

AFL 2022 27 Jan @ 17:10 - To Win Outright
Melbourne 4.50
Western Bulldogs 7.00
Brisbane 8.00
Port Adelaide 10.00
Geelong 10.00
Richmond 11.00
Sydney 11.00
West Coast 15.00
Greater Western Sydney 15.00
St Kilda 23.00

Previous AFL Grand Final Winners

The Essendon Bombers along with the Carlton Blues are the two most successful teams in the AFL which includes when the league was known as the VFL (Victorian Football League) since its creation in 1897. Two teams have won a total of sixteen titles, however, recent success has not happened, Essendon's last win was back in 2000 whilst Carlton have gone longer with their last win coming in 1995. The Bombers have made thirty finals in total, their last being in 2001 whilst the Blues have made twenty-nine finals, their last being in 1999.

Just one win behind those two teams are the Collingwood Magpies with fifteen wins, their last win came in 2010 which ended a twenty-year wait having not been champions since 1990. They have made the grand final in recent years, 2018 being the latest but their record in the grand final is not great, they have lost on a total of twenty-seven of their forty-two appearances.

There are three teams how are currently active who have never been crowned champions, the Fremantle Dockers are the longest-serving who have not won, since their creation in 1995 they have only made one grand final which was in 2013 but they were defeated by Hawthorne. the Greater Western Sydney Giants have been active since 2012, they made their one and only grand final in 2019 when they were hammered by Richmond 114-25 whilst the Gold Coast Suns joined the AFL in 2011 and are currently the only active team not to make a single grand final.

Previous AFL Grand Final Winners

Season Premiers Score Runners-up Attendance
2021 Melbourne 21.14 (140) d. 10.6 (66) Western Bulldogs 61,118
2020 Richmond 12.9 (81) d. 7.8 (50) Geelong 29,707
2019 Richmond 17.12 (114) d. 3.7 (25) Greater Western Sydney 100,014
2018 West Coast 11.13 (79) d. 11.8 (74) Collingwood 100,022
2017 Richmond 16.12 (108) d. 8.12 (60) Adelaide 100,021
2016 Western Bulldogs 13.11 (89) d. 10.7 (67) Sydney 99,981
2015 Hawthorn 16.11 (107) d. 8.13 (61) West Coast 98,633
2014 Hawthorn 21.11 (137) d. 11.8 (74) Sydney 99,454
2013 Hawthorn 11.11 (77) d. 8.14 (62) Fremantle 100,007
2012 Sydney 14.7 (91) d. 11.15 (81) Hawthorn 99,683

2022 Brownlow Medal

The Brownlow Medal which is also known by its full name as the Charles Brownlow Trophy is awarded to the best AFL player, it's the Australian equivalent to the MVP (Most Valuable Player) and is the highest individual honour in the AFL.

The winner is determined by the umpires who cast votes after each game, they will pick out their top three players in a game and award them 3, 2 & 1 stars with 3 stars being the best player of the game.

Since 1930 the countback procedure to determine the winner has been the number of three-star awards received if it ends in a tie then they will count the two-star awards received and if still a tie then the one-star awards.

Only four players have ever won the medal three times (the most), those were Haydn Bunton Sr. (Fitzroy), Dick Reynolds (Essendon), Bob Skilton (South Melbourne) & Ian Stewart (St Kilda/Richmond).

The youngest winner is Dick Reynolds (Essendon) – 19 years, 91 days whilst the oldest winner is Barry Round (Sydney) – 31 years, 238 days.

Last Ten Brownlow Medal Winners

Year Player Team Votes
2021 Ollie Wines Port Adelaide 36
2020 Lachie Neale Brisbane Lions 31
2019 Nat Fyfe Fremantle 33
2018 Tom Mitchell Hawthorn 28
2017 Dustin Martin Richmond 36
2016 Patrick Dangerfield Geelong 35
2015 Nat Fyfe Fremantle 31
2014 Matt Priddis West Coast 26
2013 Gary Ablett Jr. Gold Coast 28
2012 Sam Mitchell
Trent Cotchin

Who is the best AFL tipster?

You can head over to the Best Aussie Rules Tipsters page to see who are the best tipsters who currently have tips open on the AFL. This page will only show tipsters who have made a profit over the past year meaning you are only seeing profitable AFL tipsters.

There are many expert tipsters on OLBG who specialise in AFL tips as there are many tipsters who are based in Australia meaning you can get the best AFL tips right here. Throughout the season make sure you head over to the AFL Predictions page to see which teams are being picked to win their matches this weekend.

You can also head over to the AFL Tipster Competition table to view the tipster, see which ones are having a profitable month, you can also order the tables by six or twelve-month statistics too like LSP, R.O.I, strike rate and the number of profitable months and if you think you have what it takes to compete in the tipster competition then make sure to sign up and start adding your tips.


There are no comments here. Be the first to comment...

Please Register / Login to reply to this blog

By using this site you confirm you are 18+ and consent to our use of cookies and processing of personal data as set out in our Privacy Policy
Got it!

We detected you are connecting from United States. We have a different section in our site for users from your country.